Satiety: the state of being satisfactorily full and unable to take on more

For me, the worst thing about dieting is feeling hungry, or unsatisfied after a meal. These feelings lead me to turn to snacks.

In the past, I’ve always concentrated my efforts into finding the perfect, low syned (or even better, syn-free) snack, when really I should’ve been looking into why I felt the need to snack in the first place.

In general, I try to eat low or syn-free meals so I can use my syns on snacks (read that to mean, cake, chocolate, biscuits) but maybe that’s where I’m going wrong, so this past week, I’ve used my syns to make my meals more interesting/tasty.

Did it work?

Well I lost 4.5lb this week so you decide 😉

I didn’t feel the need to snack inbetween meals and if I wanted something, it was only because I wanted to taste something sweet. I found that, because I wasn’t actually hungry, I had more willpower and was more willing to eat fruit instead of refined sugar.

It could, of course, be a complete coincidence and I simply had a low appetite this week, so I’ll try it again for the next 7 days.

So what can I share with you this week?

Spaghetti Bolognese – This is a regular meal in our house. I have 2 young children, so meals need to be child-friendly, and who doesn’t love spaghetti bolognese?

I usually stick to green days (although I plan to have a week of extra easy very soon) so Quorn™ is usually at the ready. Last week I happened upon Asda’s own meat-free mince and decided to give it a go. Oh…My…Word! That makes a pretty convincing Spag Bol. I actually convinced myself that it MUST be syns, but I can assure you it is completely syn-free. The texture of the mince is the closest you’re going to get to actual minced meat and by adding 28g of Chorizo (4 syns, but the meal feeds 4 so it’s really only 1 syn) it’s even yummier.

At somepoint this week I will write out the recipe, so you too can have yummy, low-syned, Spaghetti Bolognese 🙂

2 responses

  1. I also find that adding meaty stock cubes (I like those Kallo organic ones for the best flavour) to Quorn based meals can also add to the flavour considerably. And best of all – they’re all free!! 🙂

Leave a comment